You only pay when we win. Contact us today.

Surprising Facts About Drunk Driving You Need to Know


Car wrecks involving a drunk driver are some of the most tragic occurrences on the road, and sadly, they’re also some of the most common.

Drunk driving wrecks are some of the most tragic occurrences on the road, and sadly, they’re also some of the most common. It’s likely that you or someone you know has been impacted by a drink driving crash. While we’ve all heard horror stories, many of us don’t know the actual statistics behind how horrific these wrecks can be. If you’ve been impacted and are looking for a Georgia auto car wreck lawyer, be sure you and your attorney know the facts.

General Statistics

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), almost 30 people in the U.S. die daily in drunk driving crashes, claiming over 10,000 lives every year. Drunk driving deaths account for about one-third of all traffic-related fatalities in the U.S. Men are more likely than women to be driving while intoxicated, and the highest percentage of drunk drivers fall between the ages of 21 to 24.

While all 50 states declare it illegal to drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08, your driving ability can be significantly impacted even with a lower BAC. At 0.02 BAC, visual functions and multitasking abilities are impaired. At 0.05, drinkers suffer from reduced coordination and difficulty steering, among other factors. At the legal limit of 0.08, muscle coordination becomes poor, perception is impaired, and concentration suffers greatly.

Drunk Driving in Georgia

The Center for Disease Control (CDC) collected data between 2003 and 2011 about drunk driving incidents by state. During that period, Georgia ranked ninth for fatalities at 3,699. About 25% of roadway deaths in Georgia are associated with alcohol, and urban areas such as Macon, Valdosta, and Atlanta are some of the worst places.

In Georgia, the first offense for a DUI conviction could carry 10 days to 12 months in jail, along with a fine of $300 to $1,000 and a minimum of 20 hours community service. If an individual gets up to 3 DUI charges, they could face 120 days to 12 months in jail, a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, and a minimum of 30 days of community service. A driver’s license can be permanently suspended after 3 DUIs or after an injury or death DUI.

What to Do After You’ve Been Hit by a Drunk Driver

If you get injured in a car crash with a drunk driver, there are a few steps you’ll need to take. Speak with the prosecutor and tell them you oppose a plea bargain. Talk to the driver’s insurance company, but be wary of settling with them right away. Do your research first to explore all available options, and be sure there aren’t any significant personal assets that you could use to satisfy your claim.

Whatever you do, be sure to get an attorney. Having an experienced car wreck lawyer could make a big difference on how much your case settles for. You deserve to have the best resources behind you to get the compensation you need to move on with your life. David Lashgari has 28 years of experience and can help get you the settlement you need. Contact Lashgari & Associates today to see how he can help you.